Recent Events‎ > ‎


posted Dec 26, 2014, 8:54 PM by Sharath Adavanne   [ updated Dec 26, 2014, 10:05 PM ]

Minutes of the VI alumni meet held at 11 am on Sunday, 21st December, 2014 in the DMS Premises
The Chairman and President of the association welcomed the alumni, teachers and all those who had gathered that morning.  He presented a report of the activities undertaken by the association during the current year. 

  • On the 5th September, 2014 academic kits, each at a cost of about Rs.1000/- were distributed to the economically poor students selected from classes VI to XII.  This was possible due to the initiatives taken by Sujith Kumar G A (1983), Sayeema Nasreen (1992) and their batch mates who donated liberally and met all the expenses towards the kit. Teachers of the school and a few alumni members attended the kit distribution programme organized in the school. 
  • Due to pressure of prior academic commitments, the annual INDEM meet and the school day celebrations, the school has decided to conduct the Vivek Memorial Cricket Tournament in the month of January, 2015. The alumni will co-ordinate with the school for the conduct of the tournament.
  • The abridged statement of accounts of the current financial year was made available to the members and the members were informed about the financial position of the association.
  • A rigorous drive to build a healthy corpus was debated.  Members acceded to the idea of building a healthy corpus which could sustain all the activities planned by the association year after year. How to go about it??
  • A few volunteers who offered to have career counseling sessions to the out-going students in the month of January.  Dates will be finalized with the school authorities very soon.
  • Mr. Dheeraj (1988) and his batch mates have volunteered to take the initiative of academic kit distribution or donating books to a rural school in the vicinity during the year 2015.
  • A few teachers volunteered to help academically if any such activities are planned in schools.
  • Regarding the annual day celebrations, diverse views were expressed some in favor of the get together and dinner the previous evening, and some opposing it.  The EC members will take a suitable decision next year.  It was also expressed that the annual meet must be held only in Mysore and should not be moved out.
  • It was decided to strengthen the communication among  members by constituting a separate cell/committee for the purpose;
  •  As the two year period of the existing Executive Committee is coming to an end, the issue regarding the formation of a new committee for the next two years was taken up.  To a suggestion made to bring in active members of the existing committee and enthusiastic volunteers who have helped in the various activities of the association, the members acceded to the suggestion and the following members will represent the executive committee for the next two years:
        1. Prof.  V V Anand
        2. Mr K.T. Muddappa
        3. Mr. Puneeth Kumar, J
        4. Mr. Sujith Kumar G.A. 
        5. Mr. Vivekananda, B.
        6. Mrs. Sayeema Nasreen  
        7. Mr. P. B. Mitra
        8. Mr. Ravi Baliga 
        9. Mr. Rajeev Natraj
        10. Miss Sahana Jagannath
        11. Mr. Pranav Bhat
        12. Miss Sonal
        13. Mr Madhu, K.S. 
        14. Mr. Sampath Kumar 
        15. Mrs. Mangala B Ram, DMS Teacher; and 
        16. Mrs Kalpana Vengopal, Head Mistress (ex-officio) 
  • For selecting the office bearers,( President, Vice President, Secretary ,Jt. Secretary and Treasurer) the executive committee  will take a call on the 25th of January, 2015.
  • The first meeting of the newly constituted executive committee will be held in the RIE, Mysore at 11.00 am on Sunday, 25th January, 2015. 
  • The Chairman/ President thanked all the members, the teachers and the school and Institute authorities for the co-operation extended for the alumni association during the year.
        DMS Alumni Executive Committee
        21st December, 2014